U.S. Food Review: Fruity Pebbles

A big part of getting used to the culture, and everyday life of the USA is very much linked to new food experiences. The latest taste test / food review is for Fruity Pebbles, which is a famous brand of breakfast cereal. It is well-known as an iconic American food because of the bright colours!

The Information

Fruity Pebbles are a sweetened, and crispy rice breakfast cereal that has been around since 1971. It is famous for its brightly coloured rice flakes, and sweet, fruity taste that Fred Flintstone and Barney Rubble, from the beloved Hanna-Barbera animated sitcom ‘The Flintstones’ seem to really enjoy.

The Taste Test

Fruity Pebbles are very brightly coloured, and as I am someone who is not used to eating such luminous breakfast cereal, the red, yellow, purple, green, blue and orange of the crispy rice flakes were quite alarming. This is not a look I want in a cereal, but I am willing to concede that I may not be the intended demographic for this product as generally I avoid heavily dyed food.When I first opened the packet, the sweet and candy-like smell was really strong, and reminded me of Bassett’s Sherbert Lemons (a hard candy I used to have as a child). The crispiness of the rice flakes was really appealing, and I enjoyed that textural treat as it goes well with ice cold milk. The overall fruity taste was not as sweet, or as strong as I had expected, and it did indeed taste like sherbert lemon candy.

The Verdict

I enjoyed the textural crunch, I was indifferent about the fruity taste (it was not bad but not good either), and I was very much put off by the intense colours (blue in particular) – 5/10!

What is your favourite cereal? Have you tried Fruity Pebbles – what did you think?

What would you like to see me try next?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

