America and Its Political Movement: What’s Next?

Trump is now President Elect of the United States of America … and this has revealed, maybe somewhat unexpectedly, that this country is more divided than people gave credence to.

As it always has, and always will be, people will rally together and focus on building something better than before because that is human nature and very much a part of the American psyche … but will it be built under the guidance and support of the most powerful man in modern day world politics? I ask this question, not to create more division, but as a listening ear to what Donald Trump himself ran his campaign on … which was not a unity of party, country or kin but a race tempered with barriers and fears and bigotry.

Trump sounded very presidential and unifying when giving his victory speech after Hillary Clinton had conceded, but that was because he had won. There was nothing more to attack or push back against  … so the Trump that was heard during rallies, media bus recordings, and on the debate stage did not need to be defending his position with his trademark vitriol. He had won. He spoke as a man who had succeeded.

It was comforting that he was gracious in victory, which is something I hope to see carried forward as leader of the free world – whether it happens, only time will show – but I for one will be more courageous in standing up for what I believe in. I will be more proactive in holding those people who work for this country to their word. If this election has taught us anything, it is that not holding government accountable and not challenging the big business, big money status quo no longer serves the people. Change has been called for, change has been heard, and change is what we got … but has the thirst for the self-serving political elite to be toppled paved the way for something worse? The very fact that Trump ran on anger, fear, racism, sexism and aggressive bullying – and still won – has made me wonder what this country really stands for.

I am not a U.S. citizen so you may not care for my opinion and you may wonder why I even express one … well, as an immigrant and a newcomer to this country I may offer fresh eyes to what is, what was, and what has been – hopefully all expressed with clarity, intelligence and respect.

As much as I cannot predict the future, this country is my home and will be for the rest of my life, so I am invested in its future – for everyone.

This result has been a shock and disappointment to many, it has also been, in equal measure, a victory and success to many. In the light of the call for political movement to shape this country anew, it is now up to you and me to make sure that Donald Trump works for the betterment of all who reside here. If he falls short on his promises to unite and be a president for everyone then we must hold him accountable, because it is not just about Donald J. Trump, it is about a political movement for change, but I fear all it has done is create justification for racism, anger and the forced following of one set of religious or moral views. I fear that there will be restrictions on freedoms, rights and personal choices and an inequality of how those rights, freedoms and persoanl choices will be protected (if, for example, things are left to state-by-state governance).

Change was needed but it remains to be seen what that change will look like  … and the world is watching.

What are your thoughts? I would love to hear your perspective … so please leave a comment!

7 thoughts on “America and Its Political Movement: What’s Next?

  1. Fabiola Rodriguez says:

    I live in Mexico, and I watched the US election with bitter disappointment. For better or worse, the outcome will affect people the world over, even though we don’t even get a say in it. I feel very disappointed with America.

    Like

    • Molly @ The Move to America says:

      I was shocked at the result because all the polls and data and info pointed to a (very close) Clinton win. I am not a fan of hers either, but I felt that under her there would have been less of a negative impact worldwide and on the national level to peoples freedom and rights. I am disappointed too, I was a Bernie enthusiast and saw him as a possible progression for this country – somehting which I do not see, at this point, coming via Trump. I will keep an open mind because that is how we move forward, but yes, it was very disappointing.

      Like

    • Lisa says:

      Sorry you feel that way, but the American people has voted. I’m very happy for them and their new president. I hope he can get America back to work. the last eight years had been a nightmare.

      Like

      • Molly @ The Move to America says:

        That is the thing I am finding really interesting about the process here – the people actually voted for Clinton, as she got more votes from the people, but as it is through the electoral college it was Trump that won. I know that is how the process works, but I find it so odd to have a system whereby the people vote, but that vote is not how someone wins. I am glad you are happy with the new president, and I hope that he does not do anything that directly effects you. He will be given his shot at it as he has been elected, so it remains to be seen if he really is for everyone as Trump and the people around him have expressed some worrying views about LGBTQ people, to name an example (Pence belieiving in electro shock therapy to cure sexuality has been quite worrying). Time will tell, and I have concerns as to what America will look like under a Trump administration as I do not want to see any group of people have their existing or movement towards new freedoms, rights and lifestyle hindered, halted, restricted or removed.
        I would be interested to hear how the last eight years have been such a nightmare, I can only go on what I have experienced through the last eight years via the American so it is good to get a new perspective. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment.

        Like

  2. anonymous says:

    You are living here too and have a right to your opinion. We need more opinions and perspectives being spread around, too many people live in a bubble. I agree if there is one thing that everyone needs to do, including myself, is to be more engaged in government but that is only part of the story.

    The president is not the king and the executive branch only represents 1/3 of the government the other branches being the judicial and legislative branches. There are checks and balances on what the president can or can’t do. It is the job of each branch to not only hold the other accountable but also work together to serve the people. The problem is not necessarily with our government but the people.

    Republics and democracies are based on the acceptance that people have dissenting opinions. Thus our system can only work if people are willing to sit down, have a rational discussion, and come to a compromise. The system can only work if the people actually respect each other. Unfortunately for the past two decades civil discourse has broken down and the people on the left and the right have become more extreme.

    The left and the right have become tribal and people are no longer giving each other the benefit of a doubt. This is why our government has been in gridlock and why (even if people will not admit it) an authoritarian figure such as Trump appeals to a lot of people. A lot of people have reached a “Screw it point” and elected Trump as a screw you to the establishment because they want change. In a way, I think Trump is the right’s version of Obama.

    People need to brake out of their left and right tribes and have a battle ideas and respect each other as rational adults. People need to swallow their pride and accept that their sacred cows may not be so sacred. People need to break out of their bubble and seek out new ideas to understand why other people think they way they do.

    If you want to listen to a more civil discourse, I recommend checking out the Rubin Report. He tries to bring people of all political stripes to come in and talk about their views.

    Like

    • Molly @ The Move to America says:

      Thank you so much for your comment, it is greatly appreciated. I can see how the gridlock within the government has been a huge issue and frustration for the people and how the ‘screw it’ element has come about. Having respectful discourse between both sides is vital, but I worry that that is something that will not happen, but I am aware that it is just a concern at this point and action as we progress under a Trump administraion will be what is important to focus on. I am a supporter of gay rights, women’s rights and indigenous peoples rights and for me personally, I see a Republican/Trump leadership as potentially damaging to that … but as I say, that is all a concern at this point. I really do hope that this is a change for the betterment of everyone.

      Like

      • anonymous says:

        I agree the best thing we can do is try to not contribute to the heat. I think most Americans are more progressive then the world and our own politicians give us credit for. Liberal values are American values the left needs to do a better job of explaining it. People on the left do better when they actually run as liberals, which is what Sanders demonstrated.

        Take gay marriage for instance, the best way to get it through is to explain it in the context of freedom. Why is it the business of the government to dictate what two consenting adults do in their own bedroom and who are they to dictate that it must between one man and one women? Instead of jumping down to “You are a bigot”. And health care reform should have been framed in the context of protecting people’s right to life and liberty. How can one live the American dream when they are burdened by debt and illness? In other words re-frame the argument and stop demonizing people who disagree or have a concern. Identity politics was one of the things that hurt the left.

        A lot of us Bernie supporters were labeled as Bernie Bros and misogynists. That certainly irritated me. We can see how the Democratic National Committee had their hands on the scales for Hillary and we have evidence that this was the case. Then there are the numerous skeletons she had in her closet that Trump and the right exploited. I can see why the establishment Democrats wanted her as a long time member of party but the underhandedness of the process and the fact she is establishment (which the American people are not happy with) hurt her.

        Furthermore, I think Hillary focused way too much on the idea of her being the first female candidate and should have instead show how liberal values are consistent with American values and the run ads showing Trumps hypocrisy. Where Hillary went “I’m with her” Trumps message was “Make America Great again.” Secular fence did a great breakdown on what went wrong with this whole election on his youtube channel.

        I personally voted for Hilary not because I believe in her or like her but 1) I believe in Bernie’s movement and 2) she is the more reasonable person. Now is the time for serious damage control.

        Like

Leave a Reply

