Grilled Cheese

I am sure the American Grilled Cheese traditionalists out there will have something to say about how I make this iconic sandwich, but in my mind there is no wrong way to consume melted cheese. All ways are good. So, I hope you enjoy my recipe and would love to hear how you eat yours.

Ingredients (one serving):

2 pieces of bread (I used a lovely fresh, grainy, brown bread)

mayonnaise

mustard

real cheese slices (I used a sharp white cheddar and Colby Jack)

salt and pepper to taste

butter/spread

grilled cheese recipe 1

Directions:

Thinly spread mayonnaise on both pieces of bread and then a small amount of mustard

Salt and pepper to taste

Add cheese slices (I did one sharp cheddar and one Colby Jack)

Sandwich together the pieces of bread and then butter both sides

grilled cheese recipe 2

Place sandwich in a medium preheated frying pan (only warmed through – not hot) and leave until golden brown (check every now and then for browning progress)

Flip over and toast other buttered side until golden brown also

Remove pan off heat and leave to cool for a few minutes – then serve and enjoy

grilled cheese recipe 3

How do you do your grilled cheese ? If you have a go at this recipe, let me know how it turns out!

2 thoughts on “Grilled Cheese

Leave a Reply

