A Bit of British: Yorkshire Pudding

For those of my lovely readers who do not know what a Yorkshire Pudding is, it is a traditional English side dish usually eaten with a roast dinner. It can be a sweet dish (never eaten it like that) or as a main dish on its own with sausages, peas and a beef/onion based gravy.

I most recently made and enjoyed some with my Christmas roast beef, a little bit of British nicey for the holiday!

Ingredients (makes 6-8 in a large muffin tin):

4 eggs

1½ cup milk

1¼ cup all purpose flour

½ tsp salt

1 tsp of veg oil per muffin mold being used

yorkshire puddings recipe 1

Directions:

NB: The batter is best prepared with time to let it rest in the refrigerator – I do it the day before, but 30 minutes will do

Preheat oven to 425°F

Combine the flour, salt, eggs and milk and mix together either by hand (make sure you do it well) or using a mixer until batter is smooth with no lumps

Pour in 1 tsp of the oil into each muffin tin you are going to use (I typically get between 6-8 puddings)

Heat muffin tin with the oil in it until it is super hot and just starting to smoke

yorkshire pudding recipe 2

Remove muffin tin from the oven and pour the chilled batter into each mold to about ¾ full – it will bubble and hiss

Bake in the oven for about 20 minutes or until well risen, crispy and nicely browned (do not open the oven door to check them too often as they may deflate)

Serve as part of your roast dinner or as a side dish for a meal that has a lot of sauce/gravy

What do you think? If you have a go at this recipe, let me know how it turns out!

2 thoughts on “A Bit of British: Yorkshire Pudding

  1. Susan says:

    Molly, that looks great! I’ll definitely try it once I stop dieting. I’ve heard of Yorkshire pudding, but I was never sure of what it was. I’m glad you’re back to blogging – I’ve missed it. Hope you’re doing well.
    Susan

    Like

Leave a Reply

