U.S. Food Review: Slim Jim

A big part of getting used to the culture and everyday life of the USA is very much linked to new food experiences. The latest taste test / food review is for Slim Jim, which are a long, thin dry cured sausage (sort of) that to me, look like a chew snack for a dog.

The Information

A Slim Jim is a beef, pork and chicken jerky style dried sausage snack that can be found in quite a few countries and seems to be very popular here. I have seen many people tucking in to them enthusiastically and had it recommend to me on a few occasions so thought I would finally give it a try.

General Mills now make it but it all began back in 1928 as the brainchild of Adolph Levis, a businessman and all round snack-tastic gentleman.

There are a few varieties to be found but I went with the mild Slim Jim.

The Taste Test

The idea of eating this jerky type snack was not on the top of my list of things to try, especially since I read the chicken is mechanically separated (I always think pink goop) but as I am not adverse to occasionally chowing down on some truly fake food (waistline agrees) I was happy to try it as I assumed it would be much like pepperoni. It isn’t.

It has a really pleasant snap to it when you bite into it thanks to the casing but after that, the texture all became a bit ā€¦ well, odd. It was a tiny bit moister than I had anticipated but it all seemed to end up feeling like I was chewing on tissue paper.

I waited for a nice meaty taste to hit my taste buds – but it never happened. I got a salty, slightly nondescript spice like hint. I really cannot think of any way to describe the flavour, other than it was not good.

- the Slim Jim -

– the Slim Jim –

- the inside/texture -

– the inside/texture –

The Verdict

Sorry, Slim Jim aficionados ā€¦ this American classic snack is just not for me! The snap you get as you bite into it is a plus but the texture and taste are not … sorry.

Have you tried a Slm Jim? Are you a Slim Jim aficionado – think I am missing out on a variety of it that is good? If you have not had one before, do you think you would like it?

What would you like to see me try next?

6 thoughts on “U.S. Food Review: Slim Jim

  1. Susan says:

    I’ve never tried it, and I never want to try it! It’s not my kind of thing. I don’t like fake tasting meat or liquid smoke, so it rules out this snack. My husband buys beef jerky when we go on road trips, but it looks more like meat “chips” than a stick.
    Susan

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    You should run it by your readers before tasting “iconic” American foods so that we may warn you and stear you clear from horrible mistakes…Slim Jims being one of them. Jerky is clearly a road trip/camping food that should only be ingested under those circumstances. Teriyaki jerky is a good, Slim Jims are crap. So sorry we didn’t get to you in time šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

