Did Donald Trump Get the Memo?

The 2016 Presidential race has very much begun, and those candidates who have thrown their hat in to the mix are doing the rounds on social media, news conferences and press junkets etc. The stand-out candidate so far, because of the entertainment factor, is Donald Trump – but is he media jester or real contender?

Generally, I watch his press conferences or interviews with an almost rubbernecking enthusiasm – the things he says are just so cringe making.  Maybe that is his political ploy, to say things that really aggravate and upset people in order to get him talked about and relevant.

Well … it is working.

He is all over various media outlets here, especially since he expressed his thoughts on Mexican immigrants …

When Mexico sends its people, they’re not sending their best….They’re sending people that have lots of problems, and they’re bringing those problems with us. They’re bringing drugs. They’re bringing crime. They’re rapists. And some, I assume, are good people. Donald Trump, June 16th Campaign Launch

Let me be clear on my stance on this – there are undoubtably illegal immigrants who do awful crimes and despicable things whilst being here, but there are also legal immigrants and citizens who do the same, and in greater numbers. If you want to talk about the issues this country faces, then lets talk about them in a mature, fact-based manner with well thought out and intelligent rhetoric – something I fear dear Donald did not get the memo on.

I recently read an article in The Telegraph (you can read it all here) that looked closely at what Trump had said and wrote …

He has also touted data from the US Sentencing Commission which indicates that an outsized proportion of federal criminal offenders are undocumented.
However, the vast majority were arrested for entering the US illegally, not for violent crimes or drug offences.
At the state and local levels, where the overwhelming majority of criminal offenders are held, 5.6 per cent of prisoners were non-citizens in 2009, the last year for which data is available.
That same year, non-citizens comprised 7.1 per cent of the total US population.
This indicates that undocumented immigrants are actually less likely to be incarcerated than US citizens for non-immigration offences. The Telegraph – online

The thing that I have found I am more interested in when reading or finding out about Donald Trump is the responses people have to him. I find I am seeking out this more than paying attention to what the man is gas-bagging about – things like the Mexican artist, Fernando Sosa, who had designed Donald Trump butt plugs.

my facebook status

My response to the news El Chapo, the recent notorious Mexican drug-lord prison escapee, tweeted Donald Trump

I am all for serious and sensible discussions on political issues that candidates wish to run on, the butt plugs were, to me, a stroke of genius – sums up very succinctly what Trump detractors feel about the man! I am sure his supporters are outraged, but I know one thing for sure – this election process is shaping up to be one of the more interesting political times ahead.

America can be frustrating to live in at times, leaving me confused and on my soap box about things, but the way some of the American people have responded to all the Donald Trumpeting has been intelligent, passionate, amusing and just plain entertaining.

What are your thoughts on this Presidential race – or Donald Trump?

4 thoughts on “Did Donald Trump Get the Memo?

  1. Susan says:

    I can’t believe he is surging in the polls! It will be a sad day for America if he is elected. It is nothing to do with Democrat versus Republican because I vote based on the issues and each candidate’s stand on the issues. I find Trump extremely offensive, and I really hope people don’t elect him. He will do nothing to help the working poor or middle class. He has no idea as to the challenges and problems they (we) face. He is out of touch with reality. I live in Palm Beach County, not far from his Mar-A-Lago country club, so he’s frequently in the local news, and it’s rarely good news. The rich love him, I’m sure, and he’ll do a lot for them. Good post, Molly!
    Susan

    Like

    • Molly @ The Move to America says:

      It is quite astounding – but it just goes to show you that he is playing into people’s fears about things. I am all for policies that are for the benefit of this country and its people, but as you mention, I have yet to hear anything that would be in support of the working poor or middle classes. I will keep watching him with interest, but I fear all the rhetoric around him will continue to be what it has been thus far!

      Like

  2. Rachael Knowles says:

    Don’t know if you have been reading the news from the UK Molly but David Cameron has admitted giving advice to one of the candidates for the Labour leadership – the most left-wing one. A hint of self-interest there perhaps. From what I read about the US hopefuls, the Republican ones seem to be anti-woman, anti-LGBT, anti-diversity, anti-healthcare and insular. And that’s probably their good points! The only Democrat I’ve heard of is Hillary, mainly through the more rabid and right wing of the comments on my newsfeed (Fox News is EVIL and almost certainly libellous)

    Like

    • Molly @ The Move to America says:

      I try to keep up with UK news when I can – but had not heard this one, or rather heard rumblings but did not read further in to it! How interesting!
      There are are some staunch Republicans who are anti-everything, but there is also a somewhat more moderate side that is getting vocal – maybe because they realise that they have to be willing to be more open to new policies and concepts regarding the usual stance … it is proving to be a very interesting campaign in general as the country is going through big changes and it will be very good to see how this all evolves!

      Like

Leave a Reply

