U.S. Food Review: Funnel Cake

A big part of getting used to the culture and everyday life of the USA is very much linked to new food experiences. The latest taste test / food review is for Funnel Cake, which is an iconic food truck / carnival creation designed to be pure and unadulterated foodie pleasure (followed by happy guilt)!

The Information

Funnel cake is a popular summer fair/carnival food in North America and is made by deep frying a batter that is poured into the cooking oil in a circular motion using a jug/funnel contraption!

It is usually served with a decent dusting of powdered sugar, but can be served with a fruit based sauce, chocolate or other similar sweet topping.

food review funnel cake 1

The Taste Test

I had my funnel cake topped with a dusting of powdered sugar and cherry sauce – which was packed full of the succulent fruit – that pleasantly complimented the crunchiness of the crispy parts of the batter.

food review funnel cake 2
The cake itself was a textural mix of a softer dough-like middle and squiggly, curly, crunchy parts on the outside. The batter/dough itself has flavour much like a plain doughnut, and is boosted by the sugar or toppings that can be added.

food review funnel cake 3

The Verdict

My funnel cake was freshly made and was therefore hot, sugary and the size of my face! It was huge! Far too big for me to eat all of it, but I gave it a good ole’ British try! I managed to get through about a third of it, as the batter is quite filling.

My favourite part of it was the curly, crispy ends that give a really wonderful crunch. It was sweet, and tasted like a carnival on a plate. I enjoyed the experience and if I get the chance to try another one, I will have a different topping.Β  Overall, it gets a thumbs up!

Have you tried Funnel Cake? What is your favourite topping? If you have not had one before, do you think you would like it?

What would you like to see me try next?

23 thoughts on “U.S. Food Review: Funnel Cake

  1. ldr13 says:

    Funny enough I was looking at a recipe for funnel cake yesterday. I always get mine with strawberries. Love it!

    Have you tried an oh henry bar yet? They are my no. 1 Favourite. What about dill pickles or deep fried dill pickles? Im dying for a dill at the moment. Think I may try pickling my own!

    Like

  2. Rebecca says:

    I first heard about funnel cake when I did Camp America and one of the American counsellors told me about it just before heading off to a county fair in PA. Unfortunately I couldn’t see it but luckily after camp I found it being sold on the Coney Island Boardwalk, I loved it and I’m sorry to say I ate the whooole thing!!

    Like

    • Molly @ The Move to America says:

      If I had not already eaten, I would have had no problem in getting throug it all, it was amazingly large though!
      I really enjoyed it, and next time, if I get to have another, I will know to not have anything else to eat before I have it! Yum!

      Like

  3. ldr13 says:

    P.s. I really love these Slice of Americana segments you do. I’m thinking about doing a reverse version where I try British things, if that’s okay with you? Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery!

    Now that I’ve started thinking about it I’m realizing just how many things I eat on a daily basis that I wouldn’t have had back home, and how many more things there are that I wanna try! There’s a shop in town with Eton Mess Ice Cream, seems like a good excuse to buy a cone πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. expatbridget says:

    What a great idea! I might have to do a piece like this for my blog! Glad you liked funnel cake – its Steve’s favorite fair treat! If you get the chance, lots of fairs have weird food you can try – fried candy bars & in Texas they even have fried butter!

    Like

  5. Anonymous says:

    You should try whoopie pies and Moxie soda, they are regional specialties in my area. A word of warning about Moxie, it is an acquired taste

    Like

Leave a Reply

