U.S. Food Review: Salt Water Taffy

A big part of getting used to the culture and everyday life of the USA is very much linked to new food experiences. The latest taste test / food review is for Salt Water Taffy, which are a fruity, chewy, individually wrapped candy that has a really interesting and quirky origin that involves the Atlantic!

The Information

This is fascinating … in 1883 there was a flood in Atlantic City in New Jersey and a candy store owner, a sharp-witted man by the name of David Bradley, who sold normal non-salty taffy (a toffee-like candy made from stretching boiled sugar, butter and flavourings) found his stock had got soaked during the flooding by the salty sea water of the Atlantic ocean.

Being the astute man he was, he did not let this contamination stop him from selling his now renamed ’Salt Water Taffy’, which proved to be a great hit and is now commonly sold in seaside towns around America.

Flavours (back, middle, front): sour apple, cherry, orange, watermelon

Flavours (back, middle, front): sour apple, cherry, orange cream, watermelon

The Taste Test

There is a distinct salty tang to this super chewy and flavourful candy. It is not overpowering or off-putting, as I was expecting, and probably intensifies the range of flavours that salt water taffy comes in (I had a selection of lemon, cherry, orange, orange cream, watermelon and sour apple).

It is very sweet and the fruit flavouring really packs a punch and makes your mouth water.

salt water taffy review 2

The Verdict

Salt water taffy looked like little lumps of slightly melted plastic (which made me unsure if I wanted to try them), but the toffee-like, chewy texture and very strong fruity flavours were really nice. I liked the slight salty tang you get that seems to intensify the taste as you chew. They are really nice and I would be interested in trying some different flavours.

Have you tried Salt Water Taffy? What do you think of it? What would you like to see me try next?

12 thoughts on “U.S. Food Review: Salt Water Taffy

  1. ldr13 says:

    Ive tried salt water taffy when ive gone to the southern states, its always nice trying something different. I got my british man to try it in florida he thought they were alright but jolly ranchers are his favourite american/canadian sweet so far. I didnt know kthe story behind salt water taffy thats pretty neat. A sharp business man indeed!

    Like

  2. mrsteepot says:

    I think I’d like to try salt water taffy, actually, like I said on Instagram, it reminds me of that Friends episode!

    Like

  3. Susan says:

    I don’t think I’ve tried salt water taffy, but I’ve tried Laffy Taffy, and I didn’t like it. It was too sticky and … not chocolate! I’ve seen it in Maine, though, along the coast.
    Susan

    Like

Leave a Reply

