U.S. Food Review: Pancakes with Bacon and Maple Syrup

A big part of getting used to the culture and everyday life of the USA is very much linked to new food experiences. The latest taste test / food review is for Pancakes with Bacon and Maple Syrup – an American diner classic I put off trying because I thought I would not enjoy it.

The Information

American pancakes are typically enjoyed over here with a knob of butter and drizzled with maple syrup (and served with bacon) for breakfast or for a breakfast style dinner (I am quite partial to a bit of brinner).

They are thick, spongy and fluffy and are usually served hot/warm having just been made – with typical ingredients including flour, eggs, milk and baking powder – the type I tried had buttermilkย  and honey in them.

The ones I had were shop bought, but were a very good/posh brand – I chose them as I was not making my own batter this time so wanted a fairly good, albeit purchased, representation of the traditional pancake.

pancakes A

The Taste Test

They were far thicker/spongy than I was expecting and were much more of a substantial variety of pancake than I am used to – and I loved them! They go so well with the maple syrup (I was not so keen on having butter too – just a personal preference) and, let me tell you, the salty bacon with maple syrup is a dream! I have never had bacon with syrup before, but America, you got this food combination completely spot on.

The pancakes were very filling and I only managed one (I ate all the bacon though) and I can see how it would make a great hearty breakfast or equally rib-sticking dinner.

pancake B

The Verdict

Epic win!

Have you tried American pancakes? What do you like to have on/with them? What would you like to see me try next?

12 thoughts on “U.S. Food Review: Pancakes with Bacon and Maple Syrup

  1. Susan says:

    I love pancakes with bacon or sausage! Like most Americans, I have a strong maple syrup preference, and it has to be Mrs. Butterworth. I know the real stuff is “better”, but it’s too watery for me. Have you tried peanut butter and jelly (sandwich)? Or peanut butter and fluff(sandwich)? How about Spaghetti-O’s? Things I ate as a kid, but I’ve never liked fluff.
    Susan

    Like

  2. ldr13 says:

    Glad you liked them ๐Ÿ™‚ As I’m not a fluffy-pancake person my absolute favourite pancakes are McDonalds pancakes :p They are sooo good ๐Ÿ™‚ I also like a nice blueberry pancake. Maple bacon is definitely yummy too! Now I’m hungry…

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    Love your Taste of American posts. Have you tried either Scotcheroos or Puppy Chow? (It’s a dessert, not dog food, I promise!) Both are more Midwestern, but both are chocolatey goodness!

    Like

Leave a Reply

