FAQ About Moving to America: The Medical Exam

I often get asked specific questions about the U.S. visa process and what you have to prepare for when moving to America. Most recently I have had quite a few questions from readers about what to expect during the medical examination that you have to undergo, and pass, before you can have your embassy interview.

My answers are specific to moving to the United States, so I hope they are of some use.

medical-visa-exam-image

Why do you need to have a medical examination?

You have to have the medical examination in order to determine if you have any communicable diseases, physical/mental disorders or abuse of/addiction to drugs that are inadmissible (not accepted) under immigration law. For example, you will be tested for tuberculosis amongst other things.

Do I have to undress for the exam?

In short, yes – but you are asked to strip down to your underwear (behind a screen) and are given a gown to wear. You will not be sitting in front of the doctor completely naked, so no worries there!

How much does it cost?

At the time of my medical exam in the UK (back in 2013) it had a fee of £235 (around $360). This does not include the extra costs of any vaccinations you may have to have, which you probably will, as I had to have two shots at an added cost of £73 or about $112.

Can my doctor do the exam?

No, you have to have the medical examination carried out by a designated immigration physician. A list of the approved places you can go will be supplied to you by the consulat or embassy. If you use your own doctor it will not be accepted.

Got any other questions?

Feel free to contact me with anything specific you wish to know about.

If you have been through the whole expatriate/immigration experience, what do you commonly get asked? Feel free to share it in a comment for anyone who is looking into making a move abroad.

4 thoughts on “FAQ About Moving to America: The Medical Exam

  1. Sarah G says:

    Luckily for my I only had to do an AOS (Adjustment of Status) medical so no stripping off for me. Plus it only cost $180. Only took 5 minutes too. I’d been in the US for almost 5 years before having the medical and no one was concerned about my health until I went for a greencard.

    Like

    • Molly @ The Move to America says:

      That sounds much better – I had quite a bit of waiting around and had to have a series of chest x-rays, blood tests, vaccinations, a physical and an interview regarding my health history etc. Would have much rather had what you had!

      Like

Leave a Reply

