How Do You Stay Connected to Home?

If you read this blog regularly, you will know that food is a connector to home … but what other ways are useful to remind you of – and keep you connected to – your life before your big move? Living abroad has a unique set of emotions when creating a space of your own.

American English dining room pictures

American English dining room pictures

It is encouraging to have something familiar around you, so I thought I would ask, what do you have, or need, to feel connected to home? Even if you do not live abroad, there will be things that you have around you that make you feel settled – what are those items?

Posters of Penzance and London and personal items displayed on an inspiration board

Posters of Penzance and London and personal items displayed on an inspiration board

I find that food is a great connector for me, taste brings back so many memories plus it is so deeply ingrained in our experiences of family and home. I also like to have objects around my home that reflect where I came from, and personal items from my life on display (see how I made the inspiration board pictured above, here).

A Cornish bag and apron and a British sign

A Cornish bag and apron and a British sign

What would be your top three things to bring with you if/when you move abroad? Is there anything you did not bring with you that you really wish you had?

Seychelles Mama
12 thoughts on “How Do You Stay Connected to Home?

  1. Zeta says:

    I think that food is my biggest “homey” thing as well. I recently found boxed macaroni and cheese here in Denmark, and although it’s not a staple in our diet now, I love it for when I’m feeling sick, or homesick. Also, I get a little thrill when I find something like American mustard or American candy.

    Like

  2. Phoebe @ Lou Messugo says:

    I wrote along a similar theme this month for the expat linky, all about my souvenirs. I also like to cook food from different places in my past, but as I don’t actually have a “home” country this means food from all over, particularly Vietnam. #myexpatfamily

    Like

  3. Liisa says:

    I’ve looked around my home here in Costa Rica and I can’t find a single thing that I brought with me to remind me of Canada. Our computers keep us in touch, my husband and kids are with me, and the boys brought their favourite stuffed toys and a couple of sports trophies. The rest was all here when we arrived a few years ago. However, I think when we return to Canada, I will need lots of mementos around to remind me of this fab time in our life.

    Like

    • Molly @ The Move to America says:

      I would be lost without my computer – so vital to actually talking to everyone. I did not bring much with me at all when I moved, just photographs really and people have sent me things (the stuff in the pics) to fill my home with, so I have loved getting the parcels of the items and finding a place for them. I can imagine all the momentos you will have when you return to Canada – so many great memories!

      Like

  4. Sara (@mumturnedmom) says:

    I think food is a huge thing, but we’re quite lucky in that we can get quite a lot of things locally, but there are exceptions! When we moved, the thing we chose to bring was photographs, putting pictures up definitely makes me feel more at home. Love your inspiration board x #myexpatfamily

    Like

  5. seychellesmama says:

    That’s lovely Molly, your Penzance poster really is similar to my Plymouth one I love it 🙂
    I don’t have enough reminders of home up and around the house! I text or speak to my mum and dad every day which is definitely the best reminder for me!
    I’m not one for British flags or particularly into British nostalgia but it is nice to have things that remind you of home or family home life!!
    Thanks for sharing this with #myexpatfamily as always I love your take on it!
    Xx

    Like

    • Molly @ The Move to America says:

      I love my Pwnzance poster – it is actually the road I used to live on and a view I looked at everyday – so it was so perfect when I saw it! I love your Plymouth one!
      I have a few things with the union jack on it but more with the Cornish flag! Hehe!

      Like

  6. Eline @ Pasta & Patchwork says:

    What an interesting question. As for many others food is definitely a big connector, and there are a few bits of kitchenalia associated with those foods that I wouldn’t want to be without. I also attach a lot of importance to bits and pieces I’ve brought with me from other places I’ve lived in. Although they aren’t connected to “home” they are very much a part of me. I find that living abroad sometimes makes you feel a bit two-dimensional, so having things around me to remind me of myself and my passions helps!

    Like

    • Molly @ The Move to America says:

      I agree – those things you collect along the way that reflect your life so far, are so important. I got rid of an awful lot of my stuff, possibly too much of it, but I am enjoying adding more things along the way. Having things that remind you of yourself too – that has really got me thinking – thanks for sharing your thoughts!

      Like

Leave a Reply

