U.S. Food Review: The Cronut

A big part of getting used to the culture and everyday life of the USA is very much linked to new food experiences. The latest taste test / food review is for The Cronut, a combination of croissant and doughnut … and when I first heard about it I thought it was a great idea.

The Information

The ‘cronut’ was invented by the French chef Dominique Ansel in New York and has become a very well known hybrid of a croissant and doughnut.

Hubby and I did not get one from New York, which I am sure is THE one to try, but we got ours from a local bakery that makes them!

cronut 1

The Taste Test

Very similar in taste to a glazed doughnut but with a flakier texture which added a crispy element to the first bite – it is sweet, doughy and tastes great. The croissant style dough makes for a lighter feel when eating it (which is bad as I could have eaten two) and does seem to have a slightly buttery overtone to it (or I could have been imagining it) which was lovely.

cronut 2

The Verdict

A really lovely treat – sweet, doughy with a crispy, flaky texture. I really enjoyed it!

Have you tried a cronut or been to Ansel’s New York bakery and had one? What would you like to see me try next?

16 thoughts on “U.S. Food Review: The Cronut

  1. Irene says:

    That sounds interesting, a donut with the consistency of a croissant! When I saw the photo I thought that they look pretty much to the donuts we have in Spain. But the interior seems lighter and fluffier, not as dense as the donuts I know. I would like to try those 🙂

    Like

  2. Susan says:

    That looks so good! I love the glaze on it! We tried one from Dunkin Donuts and it was okay, but not worth the price. I have a feeling your bakery Cronut was much better! Susan

    Like

Leave a Reply

