Cinnamon Swirl Cake

If you are a cinnamon lover, this Cinnamon Swirl Cake is for you! It is sweet, soft, easy to make (each step is clear and uncomplicated) and completely delicious, especially with the cinnamon glaze on the top and the cinnamon sugar swirled throughout the sponge. Total cinnamon heaven that you will really enjoy snacking on!

Step One – Basic Vanilla Sponge

1 cup all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 cup soft brown sugar

1 cup butter, melted

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

cinnamon swirl cake 1

Heat oven to 350°F

Butter & flour cake pan and line with baking parchment at the bottom

Sift the flour, baking powder and sugar into the bowl of an electric mixer then add the butter, eggs and vanilla extract – mix until smooth

Pour the cake mixture into a 9.5 inch loaf tin

cinnamon swirl cake 2

Step Two – Cinnamon Sugar

4 tsp soft brown sugar

2 tsp ground cinnamon

Mix together the ingredients to make the cinnamon sugar then sprinkle evenly over the top of the cake

Swirl (using a fork) the cinnamon sugar into the top of the cake mixture

Bake in oven for 40 minutes or until the cake springs back to the touch

Leave to cool in the cake pan for 5 minutes then turn out and transfer to a cooling rack

cinnamon swirl cake 3

Step Three – Cinnamon Glaze

1 cup confectioner’s sugar

½ tsp ground cinnamon

½ tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp milk

Whisk together the ingredients to make the cinnamon glaze and drizzle over the top of the cooled cake

cinnamon swirl cake 4

cinnamon swirl cake 5

What do you think? If you have a go at making my recipe, let me know how it turns out!

6 thoughts on “Cinnamon Swirl Cake

  1. jlhilleary says:

    Ok, Molly now you’ve got me in a twist here. I was planning the Lemon Curd cake for this week, but now I really, really want to make this for brunch. Is there a limit on how much baked goodness we can have this week? LOL! 😉

    Thanks once again for making my home smell like someone who knows what they’re doing lives here!

    Happy (Merry) Christmas to you and your hubby! So glad you came across the pond…

    All the best,
    Jonelle

    Like

  2. jlhilleary says:

    Happy Christmas, Molly! I made your Cinnamon cake yesterday for a light finish to our family dinner and it was such a hit! Everyone loved it. We have just a couple pieces left for breakfast this morning with coffee.

    One thing I didn’t notice till I was already into the process…the list says butter, “melted” but the next photo looks more like butter “softened”. I had already melted (liquified) the butter by the time I got to the photo. (My bad for not thinking it through first!) Despite not being able to cream the butter and sugar in the usual way, the cake was excellent with just a minor adjustment of an extra Tbsp of flour during the mixing.

    I’ll definitely be making this again! Thanks for the share!

    Like

    • Molly @ The Move to America says:

      I am so glad you tried the cake! Thank you for doing so!

      I appreciate the feedback about the butter – I partially melt it and should have included that in my recipe for it to be clearer (will be changing that on the post).

      I really enjoyed this cake as I am such a cinnamon fan and I’ll be making it again too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

