U.S. Food Review: Meatloaf

A big part of getting used to the culture and everyday life of the USA is very much linked to new food experiences. The latest taste test / food review is for Meatloaf, which is exactly as is sounds … meat (commonly beef or a mix of beef and pork) packed into a loaf tin and baked.

The Information

Meatloaf originated in Europe (there is mention of it in a Roman cookery collection) and traditionally came from Germany (possibly German settlers brought it over). The first mention of it in an American cookbook was in the late 1800’s – it is typically made today with ground beef but can be made with, or a mixture of, pork, veal and lamb.

meatloaf 1

The Taste Test

The meatloaf I had  consisted of ground beef, ground pork, tomato/balsamic based sauce, Italian seasoning, egg whites, onion, parmesan cheese and breadcrumbs.

It had a fresh meaty taste that was set off well with the seasoning. The consistency of the loaf was not as dense as I had thought it would be and was very moist. I could not really detect a tomato-like taste, but do not think it is meant to be a huge feature in the overall taste.

meatloaf 1b

The Verdict

Moist, meaty, well seasoned – a surprise from the dense, dry, overpowering meat fest I was expecting. I will be adding that to my meals in the future!

Have you tried meatloaf – what did you think? Do you have a must-add family ingredient? What would you like to see me try next?

12 thoughts on “U.S. Food Review: Meatloaf

  1. An Adventure A Day says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed it. Meatloaf was a staple food in our house growing up, but my mom covered it with Ketchup -which I loath! These days, I make it every now and again – sans ketchup. My favorite way to prepare it is with mashed potatoes and gravy on top. Interestingly, my husband had never tried meatloaf before we were married – it’s one of his favorites now. 🙂

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    I make mine with ground beef, 2 eggs, crushed saltine crackers, a little tomoto paste or ketchup, a dash of nutmeg (brings out the meat flavor), diced onions and a nice helping shredded mild cheddar cheese mixed into it. It comes out so moist & flavorful!

    Like

  3. Rachel G says:

    Your first time trying meatloaf made me smile! I’ve never actually made it myself, but it was a staple dinner when I lived with my grandparents!

    Like

  4. Susan says:

    I don’t make it often anymore, even though I love it. I used the recipe on the back of the Lipton Onion Soup Mix box. The recipe calls for one packet of the soup mix. It’s really my favorite recipe, and I like it the next day sliced, warmed up and in a sandwich with toasted bread. When I make it, I mold it into a loaf shape but bake it in a pan, not in a loaf pan because I don’t like the idea of it having trapped grease. I love meatloaf, and the idea of cheese with it sounds great!

    Like

  5. Eline @ Pasta & Patchwork says:

    That looks so good… I love meatloaf and usually pack in the parsley and parmesan. The best I’ve ever eaten was in a Louisiana-inspired restaurant though. It came with rosemary cornbread for mopping up the gravy and it was just to die for!

    Like

Leave a Reply

