U.S. Food Review: Breakfast Cereal

A big part of getting used to the culture and everyday life of the USA is very much linked to new food experiences. The latest taste test / food review is for two types of cereal … Froot Loops and Cap’n Crunch – both are well-known and loved and have been around for some time.

The Information

Froot Loops have been around since 1963 and are a fruit flavoured cereal made by Kellogg’s. According to my research, the loops are not different flavours (as I had assumed) and are all one (blended) fruit flavour.

Cap’n Crunch is a sweetened corn and oat cereal that was also introduced in 1963 by Quaker Oats.

Froot Loops

Froot Loops

Cap'n Crunch

Cap’n Crunch

The Taste Test

Froot Loops have a very startling first taste as it hits your tongue with a fruity (but nondescript) blast that then subsides with each spoonful and then resembles a sort of mild sherbet-like (even chalky) taste.

Cap’n Crunch is very sweet (it resembled crunchy honey) that lasts with each spoonful and develops an oaty overtone once you have had a bit of it.

The Verdict

When I saw the colour of Froot Loops, I was quite taken aback as I have never eaten a cereal this bright before! I had a good few spoonfuls of it, and although the texture was pleasing (a nice crunch) I did not like the taste. It was far too much like a candy for me.

Cap’n Crunch was nicer to taste at first (it also had a good texture), but after a few spoonfuls it got too sweet for me and began to leave an odd sensation on my teeth/tongue.

Have you tried these cereals – what did you think? What would you like to see me try next?

25 thoughts on “U.S. Food Review: Breakfast Cereal

  1. foodessen says:

    Again you’re taking me back to childhood! 🙂 Two of my favorites were Cap’n Crunch Crunch Berries and Lucky Charms, both happy looking cereals that I haven’t eaten in quite some time. Can’t wait to see what you try next!

    Like

  2. Nathalie says:

    I was so disappointed when I tried Froot Loops for the first time! It was definitely too sweet for my taste. I always have cereal for breakfast and I’ve had quite a difficult time finding the ones that really like here in the US. Back home I always chose the types with chocolate (very mature haha) but weirdly they don’t put that in cereal very often here and if they do it’s doesn’t really taste like chocolate at all! They do put cinnamon and peanut butter in cereal, which again I’d never seen before 🙂

    Like

    • Molly @ The Move to America says:

      I love a good bowl of cereal too – and my preferences are quite diverse, but the Froot Loops etc were too sweet! I love a good granola, but also chocolatey ones too! I have struggled to find breakfast food here that I like, but finally stumbled onto Frosties (which taste the same as back in the UK) and some bread that does not have corn syrup in it and is all natural! Hurrah!

      Like

  3. ldr13 says:

    I’m not a breakfast cereal person but I do like Fruit Loops and Corn Pops. My man (from the UK) also tends to find some of our foods too sweet! I guess it depends what you are brought up with; we tend to consume a lot more sugar and salt. I’m in the UK visiting at the moment and am growing accustomed to putting salt on my fries; back home I’ve never had fries come unsalted. So many little differences!

    Like

    • Molly @ The Move to America says:

      Ooh, salty fries are the best! I miss going to a good fish and chip place in the UK and putting salt and vinegar on my chips/fries! Yum!
      I think you are right, it all comes down to what you were brought up on … I think the UK uses very different sweeteners/additives/colours etc too, so it has all been an interesting experience. I find the highly coloured food here gives me heart palpitations! Eek!

      Like

  4. Susan says:

    Nice post! Believe it or not, Fruit Loops was a lot sweeter when I was a kid. They took out a lot of sugar in recent years and added whole grains to make it healthier. I’ve never had Captain Crunch, but I can imagine what it tastes like based on your description. I set a lot of sugar growing up, so I have an incredible sweet tooth and a high tolerance for sugar, unfortunately.

    Like

  5. englishroseamericansoil says:

    I thought of your ‘Slice of Americana’ blog posts the other day when I had Milk Duds for the first time. They made my teeth hurt because they were so sugary!! I’m not sure I would like froot loops! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

