Expat Life: Getting Used to the Weather

One aspect of expat life that I had not really thought about, until I moved, was the weather. This was a complete oversight on my part that has maybe let my British sensibilities down (I am rather obsessed with the weather) and left me enjoying the new meteorological conditions while also being terrified of them.

Shortly after I became an expat, Ohio experienced some of the worst winter weather it has had in about 35 years, with temperatures reaching as low as -30 with thick snow and ice everywhere – a condition I was not prepared for at all. Not to mention the tornado siren going off, which has me in a state of panic every time (I still have a ‘moment’ when they are testing it at the beginning of the month to make sure it works).

Frozen windows in our old apartment (this was on the inside).

Frozen windows in our old apartment (this was on the inside).

Recently there have been some pretty amazing storms with thunder that sounds like it is out of a horror movie. It starts with a huge clap/bang and then proceeds to rumble on … it is unlike anything I have ever heard. I managed to get a rather shaky, poor quality, mobile phone video of one such clap of thunder. The filming of it does not do it justice as it does not pick up the real volume of the noise at the time – but, if you listen carefully, you can hear my house shaking as the thunder rumbles on … have a look/listen!

Expat Life: Loud thunder makes the house rattle! from Molly on Vimeo.

I am currently trying to figure out how to get a piece of audio up on here that managed to capture a truly horrifyingly loud bit of thunder – I feel it will prove I am not crazy when I shake in my British socks every time a storm arrives!

UPDATE: Managed to create a video of the audio of the huge thunder clap I recorded – see below!

Expat Life: Getting Used to the Weather (Thunder Audio) from Molly on Vimeo.

18 thoughts on “Expat Life: Getting Used to the Weather

  1. Inese Bokiša says:

    For me as native Latvian the bad winter seems all right, but I prefer England winters, of course. I can imagine how did you feel on your first winter abroad and in so cold weather, because there (in England) is fuss about very light winter day and some snow!)

    Like

    • Molly @ The Move to America says:

      I can believe it! I have never heard storms like it – typically a storm in the UK is a flash of lightning then a moderate clap of thunder then maybe another bit of lightning for a while! The storms here roll on and on and the lightening here has multiple flashes – I still jump when I see it! :-/

      Like

  2. shealav says:

    Native born Americans who move from one party of the country to another have the same shock. I have family in CA that are horrified that I live in “tornado alley” but I’d be scared to live in CA. I mean, they have earthquakes, for goodness sakes! 🙂

    Like

  3. Rachael (@hookstitch) says:

    Nearly three years into Michigan life you certainly get use to the weather but it certainly still likes to throw things at you – like all the crazy flooding we got here last Monday night. Being out and about in it whether -5C or 35C I find has been the best way to get “use” to it for sure.

    Like

  4. foodessen says:

    Weather can really be a major change in our lives. I have to admit that I probably didn’t give this enough thought. I knew about dreary German days but didn’t fully consider the long periods of the dreary days. I do miss the Texas heat and long summers but I also enjoy the length of summer days here. We have to take the bad with the good I suppose!

    Like

  5. Susan says:

    Great post! When I was in college, I studied in Quebec, Canada for a winter, and it was regularly -25 F, and it would snow a few feet easily overnight. The university had underground walkways/tunnels, and I could go from by dorm to class, to the library without going outside. It was great! Now I live in South Florida, and it can rain several inches in just a few minutes or rain on one side of the street and not the other! It’s really cool, and I love weather, too. I think it’s interesting how much the weather can vary from one area or region to another. Take care, Susan

    Like

Leave a Reply

