U.S. Food Review: Chick-O-Stick

A big part of getting used to the culture and everyday life of the USA is very much linked to new food experiences. The latest taste test / food review is for Chick-O-Stick, a peanut flavoured, crunchy snack / candy that is a bit of a classic as it has been around since the 50’s.

chick o stick 1

The Information

Chick-O-Stick is a peanut butter and coconut flavoured sugar candy that has been around since the 1950’s and is made by the Atkinson Candy Company, a family run business since the 1930’s.

chick o stick 3

The Taste Test

It was very crunchy and had a pleasant peanut butter and coconut taste (not too overpowering). The crunch comes from the honeycomb like structure/sugar and creates a nice texture as you chew. It is a big hit of sugar (I could only eat half of it before the rest went to Hubby), but I was reliably informed that you can leave what you do not eat for later!

chick o stick 4

The Verdict

My first impression was that it looked very orange and I was a bit confused about whether it was chicken flavoured – so I was not really excited to try it. When I bit into it, it was more crunchy than I had anticipated – I really enjoyed that – and the sugary, peanut butter/coconut had a really nice taste. I also really liked the texture it has as you chew (very close to a Crunchie Bar back in the UK). An unexpected pleasant experience!

Have you tried a Chick-O-Stick? What did you think? What would you like to see me try next?

14 thoughts on “U.S. Food Review: Chick-O-Stick

  1. foodessen says:

    I know I have eaten this before but it’s been quite a long time. Now I will have to put it on my list of things to share with my German husband the next time we’re in the States! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  2. Susan says:

    I’ve never heard of it or even seen it! Is it a candy that’s from your region? I live in Florida now but come from New England originally, and never had key lime cake, pie, cookies or candy until we moved to Florida. I’ll look for the Chick-O-Stick the next time I’m in the grocery store 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

