U.S. Food Review: Girl Scout Cookies

A big part of getting used to the culture and everyday life of the USA is very much linked to new food experiences. The latest taste test / food review is for Girl Scout Cookies, a slice of American life that is known worldwide. I tried Samoas and Tagalong cookies for the very first time.

The Information

These cookies are sold around this time each year, by Girl Scouts who hope to gain experience with running a small business, organising sales and working with others. The boxes sell for between $4 and $5.

The sale of these cookies has been going for nearly 100 years, and has become an iconic part of the American cultural experience. I had heard about these from several people, and they all said how great the cookies are.

There are a range of different cookies, including thin mints, cranberry citrus crisps, lemonades and chocolate chip shortbread.

A 'samoa' and 'tagalong' cookie

A ‘samoa’ and ‘tagalong’ cookie

The Taste Test

I tried a ‘samoa’ (caramel and toasted coconut covered – with dark chocolate) and a ‘tagalong’ (peanut butter centre covered with chocolate).

Surprisingly, these cookies were not overly sweet – which I was expecting – and the chocolate (particularly the dark chocolate on the samoa) was fairly similar to chocolate from the UK. The caramel and peanut butter used was not overly strong or sweet and really added a great flavour to the cookies.

A samoa cookie

A samoa cookie

The Verdict

I really loved these cookies – I do not know how, or why, but they taste far better than the other makes of the same cookies. The samoas in particular where really good – and very addictive. Once I had one, I needed to have a few more.

I think they are very expensive, and would never pay $4-$5 for cookies normally, but these are a real treat, and as they are not available all year round, are worth spending a bit more.

Have you had Girl Scout cookies? What are your favourites?

30 thoughts on “U.S. Food Review: Girl Scout Cookies

  1. jlhilleary says:

    Oh my goodness, Molly. I’m a Thin Mint lover myself. But they’re misnamed. .. should be Fat Mints- who can eat just one? ?

    What a lovely slice of Americana to discover!

    Like

  2. foodessen says:

    I have to admit I do sometimes miss Girl Scout Cookies! I enjoy eating a Thin Mint right out of the freezer πŸ™‚ and the Samoas are yummy. I agree with you that they are expensive but I suppose that’s the only way the Girl Scouts really get something out of the sale. Enjoy your cookies!

    Like

  3. memyselfandatlanta says:

    I still need to try some Girl Scout cookies. I think I’m secretly waiting for a Girl Scout to knock on the door to try and sell me some like they do in films. Then I’ll know I’m living in America!!

    Like

  4. unwrappingmommy says:

    I like Samoas from the freezer, and don’t forget that while the boxes are more expensive than a normal package of cookies, these are also a fundraiser for the girls. They need to raise the price so they can make some kind of profit over the cost to make them πŸ™‚ Did you try the Trefoils?

    Like

  5. Cindi says:

    I love the two you reviewed, but I’m with others — Thin Mints are my favorites.

    But no matter which one I eat, I tend to eat the whole box at a time. It’s probably a good thing I moved out of America and the more easy availability to those expensive treats! πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Elizabeth says:

    I love Girl Scout cookies so much! They have gotten more expensive recently, however the proceeds to go to a good cause and the cookies are so delicious. Have you tried the thin mints? They are my favorite

    Like

  7. blushandbarbells says:

    I successfully avoided Girl Scout Cookies this year. I’ve been known to eat an entire box during a stressful situation.
    My favorites are the lemon creme cookies, but those are regional so not every state has those available.

    Like

  8. Miho says:

    i’ve always heard so much about them, from people, in books, in movies – it sounds like thin mints are something i’d love. UK needs to get on this… x

    Like

  9. Irene @ Away from Tenerife says:

    They look really tasty! And I love anything cookie or biscuit (I have a big sweet tooth hehe).
    I had only herd about these cookies because I saw a recipe in an American cookbook I bought last year but I didn’t know anything about their history or that there were so many different flavours. Interesting post πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. Rachael Knowles says:

    You’ve cleared up a misconception here, because I thought that these were home-made and sold in bake sales or door-to-door to raise money for local scout groups. They sound more like the Young Enterprise programmes that run in some senior schools.

    Like

  11. Erika says:

    Oh man, girl scout cookies are QUINTESSENTIALLY American!!! We go crazy for them over here and I know I get excited once I start seeing the stands at grocery stores.

    This was cool to read a non-American perspective on it — and I am so glad it lived up to the hype! The samoas are definitely a favorite of mine and the thin mints are pretty darn delicious, too! They are more expensive than regular cookies but are for a good cause and have limited availability, so it makes it worth it! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

