U.S. Food Review: Cheddar Bay Biscuits

A big part of getting used to the culture and everyday life of the USA is very much linked to new food experiences. The latest taste test / food review is for Cheddar Bay Biscuits from Red Lobster which are like savoury cheese scones that have a hint of garlic butter. They are seriously tasty.

The Information

These types of biscuits originate from a seafood chain of restaurants called Red Lobster. I have never been (I am allergic to fish and seafood, so probably will never go), but my flatmate was always saying how good these biscuits are, so I was very curious to try them.

The term ‘biscuit’ within the title confused me to start with as I assumed it was a cookie-like creation (biscuit to us Brits), but it is more like a scone. It is most commonly eaten as an appetiser or a side to a meal.

cheddar bay 1

My flatmate made them with a pancake mix, milk, butter, garlic powder, cheddar cheese and parsley. If you are interested in a recipe for them, click the following link WikiHow: How To Make Red Lobster’s® Cheddar Bay Biscuits

The Taste Test

The biscuits have a soft, crumbly scone/cake-like texture and a good flavouring of cheese and garlic, which goes so well together. It is most similar to a cheese scone from back in the UK, and is just as comforting. It is very filling, and goes really well with soups or as a sort of topping to a stew (I am thinking like the British ‘dumpling’).

cheddar bay 2

The Verdict

These were really delicious, and had a good strong cheese and garlic flavour combination. These may well become a staple food item from now on – really tasty!

Have you had or made Cheddar Bay Biscuits before? Do you think you might try them if you have never had them?

16 thoughts on “U.S. Food Review: Cheddar Bay Biscuits

  1. Jamie Gunter says:

    Yum! I’ve never been a Red Lobster fan having grown up on the Gulf Coast with a tremendous amount of fresh seafood restaurants….but i LOVE those biscuits! I bet it is strange for you to call them a biscuit. I get mixed up talking about carts, trolleys and buggies!

    Like

    • Molly @ The Move to America says:

      I bet the seafood in the Gulf Coast is good – even though I will never eat fish/seafood, I am sure there is nothing that can beat super fresh produce!

      I really loved the biscuits too, and did get a bit confused with the term biscuit, but I am slowly starting to remember things … although, like you, I still get caught out by the trolley/cart thing!

      Thanks for your comment!

      Like

  2. ldr13 says:

    I’m from Canada (we have Red Lobster here) but I often visit the States and I find that the people down there are obsessed with these :p I hadn’t heard of them until one of my trips down there. I think they’re pretty good though it’s not something I would go out looking for in particular but those Americans really love their biscuits. They also talked a lot about biscuits in gravy which I have not tried. Have you tried grits yet? I find that it’s a pretty common staple in parts of the U.S. kinda like porridge but more bland and with a slightly different texture.

    Also, I didn’t realize you don’t have corndogs in the UK until my boyfriend (from England) and I went to the U.S. for a visit. I loooove them, but he wasn’t a fan. Have you tried one yet?

    Like

    • Molly @ The Move to America says:

      Everyone I spoke to about them seems to really, really like them – and I can see why, as they are delicious.

      I have indeed tried biscuits and gravy and corndogs and wrote about them for this series. I was not so keen on them both, but I did like the biscuit, which was very much like a scone to me.

      I have not tried grits yet, but that may go on my list of things to try!

      Thanks for your comment!

      Like

  3. malaysianmeanders says:

    My kids LOVE these biscuits at Red Lobster and are sad that we can’t get them in Malaysia. When I can find Bisquik mix at the store, I always make some for us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

